Beware of this Amazon phishing e-mail

Here's a phishing e-mail making the rounds that I've received twice in the past week.
Here's the full text:
Hello, I wanna ask you if you still have this item for sale,sorry for bothering you ,but i think is a error in this link ,send me an reply after you able to sell the product. ! Please let me know soon.http://www.amazon.com/exec
/obidos/tg/browse/-/17228241231 2 Thank you.
Brian Petesburg.
The e-mail address displayed was BrianPetesburg@bellsouth.net. If you reply to the message, it goes to commmgr-autoreply@amazon.comt.
Of course this is a scammer hoping you'll go to his Web site and enter your Amazon ID and password. Then all hell breaks loose with your account.
There are several things about this e-mail that tip you off that it's a fraud. For one thing, the URL embedded in the e-mail wasn't the one that appears in the text. The URL actually went to a rogue site:
http://210.233.10.229/wiz/www.amazon.com/gp/SignIn.html
(You can see the actual URL by moving your mouse over the URL displayed in the e-mail while looking at the bottom of your browser. This rogue site has been shut down, but this phisher probably is using a different one by now.)
Do you see any more telltale signs that this e-mail is from a phisher? Have you received one of these lately?
Here's more information about Amazon phishing scams. At the bottom is a link for reporting these "spoof" e-mails.
Labels: Amazon Marketplace, security











